Strukton to expand passenger information system in Rotterdam The Hague Metropolitan Area

20 February 2015

Strukton Systems will expand the dynamic passenger information system (DPI system) in the Rotterdam The Hague Metropolitan Area. Over the course of nine months, Strukton will install new information pillars that display departure information in real time at at least 200 tram stops. The number of information panels will be increased even further in the years ahead.


Strukton is also developing the computer system that distributes this real-time information and will bear responsibility for the management of this system and the information panels for the next ten years. Strukton was contracted for this project by the Rotterdam The Hague Metropolitan Area in late 2014. The client based its decision to award the contract to Strukton on the quality of its presentation service, displays, project approach and management programme in combination with an attractive price.


  • Development and (technical) management of the computer system used to directly control the information pillars
  • Adaptation of the computer system for further roll-out in the region
  • Installation and connection of an initial programme of approximately 200 information pillars, followed by further programmes at a later stage (in a variety of versions)
  • Realisation of a wireless communication network and power supply
  • Maintenance of the total system for a term of 10 years

Rotterdam The Hague Metropolitan Area

The Rotterdam The Hague Metropolitan Area comprises a total of 23 municipalities in the Netherlands that have joined forces to improve the region’s accessibility and strengthen its economic appeal as a business location. The participating municipalities are: Albrandswaard, Barendrecht, Brielle, Capelle aan den IJssel, Delft, The Hague, Hellevoetsluis, Krimpen aan den IJssel, Lansingerland, Leidschendam-Voorburg, Maassluis, Midden-Delfland, Nissewaard, Pijnacker-Nootdorp, Ridderkerk, Rijswijk, Rotterdam, Schiedam, Vlaardingen, Wassenaar, Westland, Westvoorne and Zoetermeer.